Camera not (completely) broken

Diana Mini

Diana Mini

It looks like all is not lost with my Diana Mini camera. Although I managed to snap the shutter lever off a couple of weeks ago, I think this camera is usable. Good job I didn’t throw it away or buy another one.

I had one of those mad moments when I dismantle something with precision screwdrivers, and then when I’ve got a pile of tiny screws and springs (some of which are somewhere on the floor now), realise I have no idea how they went together, even though I was telling myself that I was being really careful and observant… This time was different, I managed to put it back together so it worked, or at least was only as broken as when I started.

There’s no hope for the shutter lever, I could try super-gluing it, but I don’t imagine it would last very long. I did manage to loosen the cable release mechanism enough to get it working, though. You can’t gently squeeze it and expect the shutter to trip, you have to use a bit of pressure and speed, but at least it’s not going to give you camera shake like the stiff lever was prone to do. So… it works, and I can take photos with it. Result.

I just need a slightly shorter cable release, now, so I don’t look quite so silly using a release cable on a tiny plastic box.

4 thoughts on “Camera not (completely) broken

  1. cip says:

    Hey, I broke of the shutter lever on my Diana Mini myself and while trying to fix it I came across your blog entry. Might I ask how you disassembled the camera? (it seems to me there are some parts that are glued together rathed than fixed with screws, so i’d break the camera if I was to open it anyways..)

    • Andy says:

      Hi. The trick to taking the camera to bits is to remove the shiny metal ring from around the lens – the one that was the distances marked on it. there are screws underneath.

      I don’t think the shutter lever is repairable, it seemed like any glueing would snap after moderate use. I just use a short cable release, which still operates the shutter. I didn’t take any photos of the disassembled Mini, sorry.

  2. cip says:

    thanks a lot for the reply. I managed to open the camera. now I only have to find some replacement for the lever =)

Leave a comment