Going dry

I am giving up alcohol for the month of January. It’s not like I am drinking a bottle of wine every night or anything like that, but after the orgy of over-consumption that was Christmas (and the three weeks it took to finish eating everything) I felt as if I should give my body a break. (I am also cutting down on cheese and chocolate biscuits).

image

The are also other considerations: it will save me £20 or so a week, which I can put towards buying other things, or even save (!). Also I’m interested to see if it has any effect on my insomnia, as I suspect the demon dink is missing about with my sleep. And I have noticed that if I have settled down with a couple of beers, I am unlikely to be motivated enough to do anything constructive, like make music, and I intend to make lots of music this year.

It’s going ok so far, I’ll let you know how I feel at the end of the month.

Leave a Reply

